Dr. K Radhakrishnan is New ISRO Chief

The director of Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre in Thiruvananthapuram (Kerala), Dr. K Radhakrishnan has been appointed as the new chairman of the Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO), Bangalore. His appointment was announced on Saturday, October 24.

Radhakrishnan will take over the charge on October 31, replacing the former chairperson G Madhavan Nair. Radhakrishnan, who joined the ISRO in 1971 as an avionics engineer, played a “key role” in the Chandrayaan-I moon mission.

The newly appointed chairman was at the Guruvayoor Sree Krishna Temple in Thrissur, when the decision of his appointment was sent to him.

Dr.Radhakrishnan, ISROAppreciating the decision, the former chairman said that the ISRO will reach new heights under the chairmanship of Radhakrishnan. He has been given a “great” responsibility.

“He (Radhakrishnan) is a talented and highly competent scientist. He knows the agency’s plans, including the most challenging manned moon mission to space. We have drawn up plans for
2020-25, which will now be carried forward by Radhakrishnan”, said Nair, the former chairman.

Radhakrishnan has served as the director of the National Remote Sensing Agency. He was also the founder director of the Indian National Centre for Ocean Information Services (INCOIS) and national mission director for the Integrated Mission for Sustainable Development.